The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Nutrition and melanoma prevention

Forums General Melanoma Community Nutrition and melanoma prevention

Participant

First off – I am not a medical expert …. I am just a Mom who has a 14 year old son who was diagnosed with melanoma this past September. While it had not spread to his sentinel nodes, the lesion was 14mm so we're talking serious melanoma. He starts Interferon on Monday, Dec. 13th.

First off – I am not a medical expert …. I am just a Mom who has a 14 year old son who was diagnosed with melanoma this past September. While it had not spread to his sentinel nodes, the lesion was 14mm so we're talking serious melanoma. He starts Interferon on Monday, Dec. 13th.

I wanted to speak with a physician who would complement the amazing team we work with at Dana-Farber. I  was able to meet with a physician in my area that has become very interested in the nutritional approach to curing cancer and other illnesses, after his own cancer diagnosis in the 1990's.

While nothing is 100% certain to help inhibit melanoma, these are some of the herbs that we spoke about. Dr. S was also extremely supportive of eating a healthy diet with foods that would contain many of these vitamins/herbs. But because I am dealing with a teenager, it will be easier to approach some of these from a supplemental  approach, while also planning to instill new recipes into our evening meals. (Indian, etc.)