The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Super anxious awaiting results about strange mole.

Forums General Melanoma Community Super anxious awaiting results about strange mole.

Participant
      This is my first time posting.  In Sept. 2019, I had a stage 1a melanoma removed from my right forearm.  All of my skin checks have been great since.  But this past November, I noticed a change in a little light pinkish brown mole that has been on top of my foot for a long time.  In about the second week of Nov, I got stung by a few ants on the top of that foot but don’t recall getting one on that mole.  My mom had just died and I was so caught up in the grief, I just didn’t pay good attention.  Anyway, about a few days later, I woke in the night scratching that foot hard with my other foot.  I just thought “It’s those bites” and they calmed down in a little while.  Then the very end of November I noticed one spot still remained and took a picture up close with my phone and the little mole looked red and swollen with a little red scab in the middle.  I looked up an old picture of the mole from May to compare.  You couldn’t even see the mole any more although it didn’t seem much bigger.  I called my dermatologist and the soonest I could get in was on January 5.  Over the course of December, the scab fell off on it’s own and it slowly shrunk nearly back to normal except it still was a little darker pink.  When I showed the progress pics to my dermatologist on Jan 5 she decided to immediately do a shave biopsy.  I knew that was probabl