The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Diagnosed at age 17 – Don’t ever give up

Forums General Melanoma Community Diagnosed at age 17 – Don’t ever give up

Participant
      Hey all,

I have lurked here for many years and this is my first time posting.

I was diagnosed a few days after my 17th birthday which was in 2006. Since then, I have had various treatments, 5 surgeries and 4 recurrences / metastasis.

I have had the following treatments:

Interferon (one month), Chemobiotherapy trial – Cisplatin, vinblastine, dacarbazine, il2, interferon – (3 cycles 1 week each), IMRT (Radiation one month), High Dose Il2 (2 courses 2 weeks each), Dabrafenib (1.5 years), Ipi/nivo (2 cycles) + nivo (13 cycles) + SBRT (Radiation 1 week).

The point that I am trying to make is that if one treatment fails, there are many options out there. Treatment choices have come a long way since I was diagnosed. I wont lie, there were times where I felt hopeless, but I managed to keep chugging along. I am happy to report that I have been NED since June. Always stay positive and let’s hope that we find a cure for 100% of the patient population. Merry (early) Christmas everyone!

Viewing 5 reply threads
    • Replies
        AMcReader
        Participant