The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

1st Scan – Good news

Forums General Melanoma Community 1st Scan – Good news

Participant

My first scan since starting therapy 4 short months ago was clear of tumors. I'm beyond thankful.

Since January, I've reached out with newbie questions and fears to get quick, informed and empathetic advice. I'm humbled by the melanoma experts and veterans here and I don't feel like I have too much to offer back as I'm still learning about how immunotherapy works and the disease itself. I know I'll continue to read this forum every day to get educated on what I now know will be a lifelong battle. 

Amidst the combination of those that have recently been diagnosed and, sadly, those that have succumb to this disease, I wanted to share my journey.

I hope this news provides more validation that the science is evolving and based on what I read here, on OncLive, Nature, etc. there is a lot of passionate research focused on melanoma.  

I was diagnosed in Jan '17 with small-ish mets to the right lung. I am being treated at The University of Chicago by Dr. Luke.  

My wife and I went to 4 different docs to understand the treatment options. 3 out of 4 recommended the combination therapy (Ipi/Nivo) as I was in good condition to deal with toxicity combined with the response rate vs the next best option.