The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Thought it was a tick bite on my scalp :(

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community Thought it was a tick bite on my scalp :(

Participant

Hello! I'm new to this craptastic world of melanoma. Nice to meet you all! I don't have any specific questions . . just wanted to share my predicament in case any of you have had a similar experience.

In September of 2018 I felt what I thought was another tick bite on my scalp, on the back of my head. I have "natural 80s hair" – super long and super thick, and I wasn't shocked at what I thought was just a bump from a bite. At least 2 months went by and I grudgingly made an appointment with a dematologist. When I got in there I said "I'm so embarassed, I think there is a tick head stuck in my skull. This sore won't heal." The "bump" was now about the size of my pinky finger nail, raised, bleeding, scabby and itchy. As soon as I flipped my hair over the dermatologist sucked in her breath and asked "Can I take a picture of this?" I knew I was in trouble. It was huge. It was black. It was angry. 

I was sent to an oncologist, do not pass GO. As soon as my oncologist looked at my head, there was no need for a punch biopsy – I was scheduled for surgery to remove the growth. The one doctor told me "The melanoma of even 5 years ago is not the melanoma of today." They cut it out about a week later and I woke from anesthesia to the wonderful news "It's definitely melanoma".