The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Sunscreen

Forums General Melanoma Community Sunscreen

Participant
      As we all know as melanoma patients sunscreen is a must for us. I have been using sunscreen for around 30 years. This past weekend I was in Washington DC walking around. I tried a new improved sunscreen on my upper chest and the back of my neck. The areas that were exposed. To my surprised I had a photo allergic reaction to the chemicals in the sunscreen. After a trip to the dermatologist yesterday I am now using a steroid cream and can not use any sunscreen ion those areas for at least a week.

I just wanted to bring the subject up for anyone else who may have an allergy to sunscreen. Now I have to start trying to find a sunscreen that works for me. LOL the doctor suggested “baby” sunscreen and keep to physical sunscreens.

Viewing 11 reply threads
    • Replies
        Linny
        Participant

Wow! Sorry to hear that happened to you.  Makes you wonder what they put in it to make it "new and improved". Scary. I hope the baby suscreen works better for you.

Linny
          Participant

Wow! Sorry to hear that happened to you.  Makes you wonder what they put in it to make it "new and improved". Scary. I hope the baby suscreen works better for you.

Linny
            Participant

natasha
              Participant

I am using Garnier 50+ sunscreen block.

Is it good or bad one?

I know it is not professional sunscreen ,but Doctro said I can use any 30plus.