The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

soup recipes?

Forums General Melanoma Community soup recipes?

Participant

was told I'm at risk for diabetes and need to lose weight but I only know how to make soup. any recs for a low fat soup recipe or links online?

was told I'm at risk for diabetes and need to lose weight but I only know how to make soup. any recs for a low fat soup recipe or links online?

Viewing 7 reply threads
    • Replies
        W.
        Participant

Consider low-carb instead of low-fat!

I'm not a doctor or something, but many people now believe that low-carb is more effective for losing weight. Some think that the obesity epidemic is caused by the shift from fats to carbs.

In my books, every soup with lots of vegetables (but not potatoes) and some meat would be okay.

rtsmichele
            Participant

Healthy Chicken Gumbo Recipe

Ingredients:

1 tsp vegetable oil
              1/4 C flour
              3 C low-sodium chicken broth
              1 1/2 lb chicken breast, skinless, boneless, cut into 1-inch strips
              1 C (1/2 lb) white potatoes, cubed
              1 C onions, chopped
              1 C (1/2 lb) carrots, coarsely chopped
              1/2 medium carrot, grated
              1/4 C celery, chopped
              4 cloves garlic, finely minced
              2 stalks scallion, chopped
              1 whole bay leaf
              1/2 tsp thyme
              1/2 tsp black pepper, ground
              2 tsp hot (or jalapeño) pepper