The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Newbie here! Braftovi/Mektovi Side Effect Question – plus some general stuff

Forums General Melanoma Community Newbie here! Braftovi/Mektovi Side Effect Question – plus some general stuff

• This topic has 7 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by CLee.
    Participant
      Hello – I’ve resisted going online and doing any research because frankly I’m terrified. My 49-year old wife was diagnosed with stage 4 melanoma in late November, 2021. She had 7 tumors – all soft tissue except for one in her lung. We are getting treatment at the University of Chicago. She received her first (only) immunotherapy treatment (Yervoy/Opdivo) on 12/14. After worrying about a lack of side effects, she was knocked on her butt about 30 days later with severe colitis that resulted in a few days in the hospital and a heavy prescription of prednisone which she is only now tapering off of.

She’s finally starting to heal from the colitis so our oncologist wanted to run another PET Scan to see how the tumors did with the 12/14 treatment. Well, she showed positive response in all of them (good) but had a new tumor in her sacrum (bad). I keep telling myself that it was because she only had the one treatment almost 3 months ago plus prednisone reduces efficacy of Opdivo. Doctor didn’t completely rule this out but prescribed her Braftovi/Mektovi because he was concerned her melanoma was resistant to immunotherapy.