The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

New patient

Forums General Melanoma Community New patient

Participant
      Hi, I’m new to melanoma. I start the nivo/ipi infusions on Wed. Any advice on what food, drinks, exercises I should do or avoid prior to
      each treatment, during and after each treatment? I’m sure I’ll be asking a lot of naive questions till I get the hang of it. Thank you in advance.
      Mark
    Viewing 2 reply threads
    • Replies
        Beany
        Participant
          Hi Mark,
          I drank lots of water before and during. I got through three infusions feeling great then the diarrhea hit me and liver numbers went up. I am on prednisone now to bring down liver enzymes. I still don’t feel bad physically in any way.

However, even two or three infusions is effective according to data provided by bubbles and Ed here on the forum.

Regards,

Bubbles
          Participant
            Hi Mark,

So very sorry you have to join us here, but there are many smart and caring peeps on this forum – so in that spirit – welcome.

Gearing up for melanoma treatment certainly requires us to traverse a steep emotional and educational curve. Unfortunately, there are not many specific scientifically determined absolutes as to what makes therapy go better – or worse. Most oncologists would simply advise that to the best of our abilities, we follow basic known health practices. In other words, eat as healthy as you can. Get the exercise that you can. Get your rest.