The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Interferon and Infertility

Forums General Melanoma Community Interferon and Infertility

Participant

I've been seeing a lot lately that people have had issues with infertility after doing interferon.  This terrifies me!  I've been doing interferon for 9 months now, I'm 30 years old and my husband and I have every hope to have children some day.  Have any of you struggled with infertility as a direct result of the interferon?

Viewing 8 reply threads
    • Replies
        Cooper
        Participant

This article says that infertility is a side effect, it is by American Cancer Society:  http://www.cancer.org/treatment/treatmentsandsideeffects/guidetocancerdrugs/interferons-alfa

gaby
            Participant

Hi!

Yes, unfortunately interferon causes infertility.

My husband is with pegylated interferon since October 2012, He is stage 3a.  Unfortunately interferon caused infertility to him.  I even made ​​2 IVF (in vitro-ICSI), but I could not get pregnant even with IVF (ICSI). The spermograms my husband are getting worse ….

When my husband was ill with melanoma us even we did not have children .. And now the dream of parenthood will disappear

The only good thing is that my husband is giving to fight melanoma

Regards

Gaby (from argentina)

gaby
              Participant

Hi!