The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

In situ melanoma – margins not clear after excision – is it recurrence, or did they just miss some?

Forums General Melanoma Community In situ melanoma – margins not clear after excision – is it recurrence, or did they just miss some?

Participant

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here. I've read many of the posts and appreciate all the good information and wisdom.

I'm posting on behalf of my Dad. He had a melanoma excised from his face in May by a plastic surgeon after his dermatologist took a biopsy and it came back positive. I did not see a pathology report, but the doctor told him it was in situ.

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here. I've read many of the posts and appreciate all the good information and wisdom.

I'm posting on behalf of my Dad. He had a melanoma excised from his face in May by a plastic surgeon after his dermatologist took a biopsy and it came back positive. I did not see a pathology report, but the doctor told him it was in situ.

He got a call today that his lab work came back without clear margins, and they called him in for an appointment. He came home with another bandage on the OTHER side of his face – they had seen another suspicious mole and done a biopsy. And they've scheduled him for another excision in early July to get the rest of the cells that they didn't get the first time around. If the new biopsy turns out to be anything, they'll take care of that one in July too.