The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Had 1st Yervoy Infusion on Wednesday

Forums General Melanoma Community Had 1st Yervoy Infusion on Wednesday

Participant

Hi All:

I had posted a couple weeks ago that I was going to go the immunotherapy route instead of the CLND of the right groin.  Okay maybe on the fence on what to do.  Well no turning back now.  Did the first treatment on Wednesday.  Did not know it would be 4 hours long, I guess I assumed it was 2 hours.  So far no side effects.  Went to work the next day.  I work in retail and on my feet for 8 hours.  I still have swelling of my right foot/let, I am thinking from the SLNB.  That is one of the reason I did not want to the CLND cause I am prone to swelling.

My oncologist still brought up the CLND that morning.  He does understand my decision.  I told him if I was diagnosed a year ago then that would of course been the decision.

I will keep you all posted on side effects.  Next infusion is Sept. 7th.

Be Brave!

Donna, TX

Viewing 8 reply threads
    • Replies
        Jon M
        Participant

Hi Donna,

Im getting ready to decided what to do as far as if i want to do a CLND or start immunotherapy route. I just had my wide excsion done along with a skin graft and SLNB 2 weeks ago and got my results yesterday that the did spread to the SN. Im really unsure of anything at this point i dont know what i want to do. I go back on Moday to meet with the doctor to get my options.

Jon M
          Participant

Hi Donna,