The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Does regression = reoccurence

Forums General Melanoma Community Does regression = reoccurence

Participant

Hello all,

Firstly, sending healing hugs to you all battling MM.

I am a newbie, and cannot seem to find the answers and feel very alone.  

I have this playing on my mind, my report stated I had regression, I asked the question to my skin nurse (I don’t have a dermatologist) my path report showed 0.06 and I asked if it was good or bad?  The response I got was this

‘uncertain, but most think probably good overall.  It was virtually the same thickness as the melanoma anyway in this case’

Well I have it in my head that regression indicates a poorer prognosis, does anyone have knowledge of regression and does it mean likelihood of a reoccurence?.

i am sorry to post a trivial question, I just cannot find the answer…

love from a big worrier

mandy

Viewing 3 reply threads
    • Replies
        Julie in SoCal
        Participant

Hi Mandy,

Welcome!  No worries, yea?  No question to big or too small on this board. 

I'm probably not the best one to answer your question; others here are much better at reading path reports, but the way I understand it, regression is when your body / immune system has discovered the melanoma and has begun to attack it.  It does not automatically mean that you'll have a recurrence, it just means your body is doing its job!