The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

After WLE and SLNB

Forums General Melanoma Community After WLE and SLNB

Participant

Hello,Newbie here,  

I had WLE/SLNB for nodular melanoma diagnosed a couple weeks ago when I went to dermatologist for first time to remove a pink skin colored eraser sized bump from upper arm, really for cosmetic reasons. My primary care had looked at it years ago (I hugely underutilized health care until now, despite being a pharmacist, guess that finally caught up with me) and said it was fibroma, nothing to worry about, and maybe it was then (I hope..)

I had grown tired of not wearing anything sleeveless and decided to pay to have it removed even if not covered. 

Saw CNP, she shaved it off out of office in < 30 minutes… Cool. She called me with biopsy report…not cool. Referred to melanoma clinic at Steidman Cancer Center in CLE, couple Dr. /location switches due to insurance issues, concerning but seems ok so far.

Been studying up, (yikes) waiting for appts etc. and appreciate all the shared experiences here already. Valor, generosity kindness and wisdom abound. 

I found the procedure day today much less unpleasant than anticipated. Indeed the anticipation/dread so far much worse than reality.  Little pain, but curiously wakeful tonight. 10/10 A+ to all staff I encountered at St. John's Med Center, from pre admission to transport to nuclear tech to surgery to recovery.