The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

When family just doesn’t get it

Forums General Melanoma Community When family just doesn’t get it

Participant

I am new to melanoma. Since the end of May, I've had five sites biopsied and all have come back with something: two were basal, one squamous, and two melanoma. I've had three Moh surgeries on one melanoma site, two on the second, smaller site, and full excision on the two basals. The squamous will be either excised or Moh when the stitiches come out of my second melanoma.  I'm in my sixties, and never had stitches before this. Now this summer, in the past eight weeks, I have over a hundred.

I am new to melanoma. Since the end of May, I've had five sites biopsied and all have come back with something: two were basal, one squamous, and two melanoma. I've had three Moh surgeries on one melanoma site, two on the second, smaller site, and full excision on the two basals. The squamous will be either excised or Moh when the stitiches come out of my second melanoma.  I'm in my sixties, and never had stitches before this. Now this summer, in the past eight weeks, I have over a hundred. It has been non-stop, with only a few weeks in between surgeries while stitches heal. Then back for the next. The stitches are all still recent, and ugly, and obvious. My back looks like it bears the "Mark of Zorro." So now does my arm.