The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Suspicious for Melonma in Situ

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community Suspicious for Melonma in Situ

Participant

Hi,

I am new to this. I had a biopsy for a mole on my big toe about a month ago. I have a family history of melonoma and have always been careful to stay out of the sun and use sunscreen.The path report came back 

FINAL PATHOLOGIC DIAGNOSIS
      SKIN, LEFT FIRST TOE, PUNCH BIOPSY: 
      -ATYPICAL JUNCTIONAL MELANOCYTIC PROLIFERATION, SUSPICIOUS FOR
      MELANOMA IN SITU, FOCALLY
      TRANSECTED LATERALLY (SEE COMMENT) 
      -REEXCISION IS ADVISED

NUPOOR ANANT GAJJAR M.D.
      ** Report Electronically Signed by NAG **
      Comment
      The clinical images from 7/2017 are reviewed but recent clinical
      images are not available for evaluation. The lesion is atypical
      given the irregular distribution along the junction (despite the
      location being an acral site) and there is suspicion for melanoma
      in situ. Therefore, reexcision (with melanoma in situ-type margins)
      is advised to ensure complete removal of the entire lesion.
      Clinical correlation is advised.

Consensus diagnosis: Dr. Jessica Chan

Mic roscopic Description
      Sections demonstrate a thick stratum corneum consistent with acral
      skin overlying a lentiginous junctional proliferation of
      melanocytes. Immunoperoxidase stains Sox-10 and Melan A highlight
      melanocytes and show patchy irregular distribution along the