The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Question Regarding Thyroid

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community Question Regarding Thyroid

Participant

Hi there,

This is my first time posting, although I’ve been reading posts for some time. 

Quick background. I have stage 3c nodular melanoma which was diagnosed last summer. I found out last September after WLE that the cancer had spread to one of two lymph nodes under my arm which made me stage 3 instead of stage 2 like they thought before. I was offered interferon as Nivolumab isn’t offered to stage 3 patients in Canada yet. I declined as I was told it wasn’t very effective. I wanted to go for Nivolumab anyway even though we would have to fundraise to pay $180,000 out of pocket. We applied for compassionate funding to Bristol Myers Dquibbs, being told they would maybe pay for half if anything, but thanks to prayers of many people and some pressure from some people in government we know, they gave me the entire treatment for free! So amazing.