The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Old lesion and pathology-lookingnfor clarity!

Forums Ocular Melanoma Community Old lesion and pathology-lookingnfor clarity!

Participant

Hi all!

in early 2015 I had a suspicious lesion removed from my perineum. I had just had a baby, was a hormonal mess and waiting for the biopsy results was killing me. I’m a periop nurse and worked mostly with ENT docs at a large hospital removing melanoma all the time! Now I’m at en eye center and Actually as I type this we are removing an eye for ocular melanoma (I’m just charting right now). This has made me over paranoid as I had seen some really sad cases and LN biopsies and such. Any way after a week of agony and constant worry it turns out it was a genital lentiginous compound Nevus with mild to moderate atypia. The dr did decide to go back and get clear margins so that happened and then I was done. I asked fern if I should return for skin checks and they said no need.