The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Newbie here (spouse/caregiver)

Forums Caregiver Community Newbie here (spouse/caregiver)

Participant

My husband was recently diagnosed with metastic melanoma. Today is 2 weeks since the initial MRI showed "multiple lesions". 8/21 GP visit, followed by MRI and admission to hospital; 8/22 abdomenal, pelvic and chest CTs & MRI; 8/23 brain surgery to remove largest mass. 1cm cancerous mass surrounded by 3x4cm bloody cyst. They knew it was metastic because of scan images done day prior. 8/24 released from hospital; 8/25 neurosurgeon called with news from pathology that it was melanoma. 8/28 1st office visit with radiation oncologist who recommended "whole brain radiation" given that there are 13 lesions remaining, scattered in the brain. Tomorrow we meet with SCCA (Seattle Cancer Care Alliance) melanoma dr for second opinion and more information. 

What can I expect from this visit? This all seems to have happened so fast. But I wonder if we are not moving fast enough at the same time.