The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

New Diagnosis

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community New Diagnosis

Participant

Hi there,

It's my first time posting here. I am 28 y/o female living in Boston, MA, and I just got a diagnosis of Melanoma stage 1A from a mole biopsied on my calf. Oddly my dermatologist thought it looked fine, but I pushed for her to biopsy it anyway. I know a lot of people here have have more advanced Melanoma, but nonethelness, I am very scared. I am scheduled for excision in two weeks. From reading here, I know I will have to monitor my body and my lymph nodes for the rest of my life, as the cancer may return at any point. I just wanted to share and say hello and leverage the strength of others here. Luckily I have a great boyfriend but my immediate family with the exception of my brother is just garbage. At times I can feel very alone in this, but I'm trying to stay positive! It feels very weird to say I have cancer.

One day at a time,

-Laura

Viewing 3 reply threads
    • Replies
        iskitwo
        Participant

Sounds like you are on top of things and good for you for pushing for what you thought you needed. You know your body best! Wishing you the best for quick healing!

Hi Laura,