The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Finished WBRT today

Forums General Melanoma Community Finished WBRT today

Participant
      Well,
      I made it through my WBRT. They even gave me the mask!
      I am just beginning to lose my hair, not looking forward to this part.
      Now I just am in the wait and see mode. No more medication available. I know God can work miracles, but
      I have some issues I don’t know who to talk to, not sure where to turn.
      How do you reconcile who you are now, compared to who you were before.?
      My whole persona has changed. I don’t know this person yet. I don’t know how to do this. It has become so very real and scary and I feel lost.
    Viewing 1 reply thread
    • Replies
        Bubbles
        Participant
          Good for you for keeping it real and getting through WBR, Tyais!! I don’t know what to tell you other than you are not alone. I once told a friend that I’d like to think that all I’ve been through has not changed me. That I am still the same person I was before. She just looked at me for a minute and said, “Of course you’re changed. You don’t go through all the things you did and face all the crap you’ve had to face without being changed.” She was right of course. In this post in 2012 – https://chaoticallypreciselifeloveandmelanoma.blogspot.com/2012/07/i-am-not-me-anymore.html – I wrote:

SUNDAY, JULY 29, 2012

I am not me anymore –
          – or at least I am not the same me that I was.
          Che Guevara