The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Complications from surgery-help!

Forums General Melanoma Community Complications from surgery-help!

Participant

Hi,

I am a newbie & need you advice.

I had sugery to remove a 2cm tumor from my upper thigh 4 weeks ago. The doctors needed to go down into the facia of the muscle to get clear margins.

He did NOT put in a drain. I got  a very large seroma (fluid build up) on my incision that is not going down. The fluid is  around & on  my incision & it is very sore & sensitive.

On top of everything else, last week the seroma got infected so the doctor used a needle to drain the seroma to do a lab culture & put me on atibiotics.

Hi,

I am a newbie & need you advice.

I had sugery to remove a 2cm tumor from my upper thigh 4 weeks ago. The doctors needed to go down into the facia of the muscle to get clear margins.

He did NOT put in a drain. I got  a very large seroma (fluid build up) on my incision that is not going down. The fluid is  around & on  my incision & it is very sore & sensitive.

On top of everything else, last week the seroma got infected so the doctor used a needle to drain the seroma to do a lab culture & put me on atibiotics.

I finally got some relief when he took out fluid for the lab culture but within hours the fluid came back. When I sleep at night with my leg elevated, the next morning the fluid has NOT gone done.