The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Breslow thickness

Forums General Melanoma Community Breslow thickness

Participant

Hi,

I am new to all this. Had a shave biopsy a month ago that came back as melanoma. Path report lists the Breslow thickness 'at least .44' and the Clark level 'at least III'.  Four days ago I had the tumor out (not the WLE), &  in 2 weeks I go back to get stitches out & find out what's next.

My question is: how accurate is this due to having a shave biopsy and do I assume that those numbers will go up since it was only a tiny piece of a pretty large spot?

Thanks!

Viewing 0 reply threads
    • Replies
        Janner
        Participant

Unforunately, there is no way to know.  What you will find out is the depth of the lesion that was NOT biopsied.  The biopsied part will not give you any further info.  Even if they were to find more melanoma under that area, you can't just "add" the depth to the biopsy depth because the samples will never match up.  Shave biopsies are not the best choice for staging melanoma because this information is compromised.  So your melanoma is "at least" .44mm.  However since it appears this was only a partial biopsy, you will be able to get a definitive depth of the remaining portion.

Irishone21
            Participant