The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

And for those of you who got the skin rash…

Forums General Melanoma Community And for those of you who got the skin rash…

Participant
      Do you recall for how long you had if?
    Viewing 0 reply threads
    • Replies
        Bubbles
        Participant
          Hey Cindy,

Though I took nivo as a single agent, I developed a rash within the fist couple of doses. It lasted throughout the 2 1/2 years of my trial and recurred in waves – all gradually decreasing – for over a year afterwards. I began to develop vitiligo as well, to the point that it was significant by my third month of treatment. Understand that this was in the early months of 2011. Before even ipi was FDA approved. We have learned a great deal since then. While we know that vitiligo is a positive sign of a good prognosis, the development of a rash is too! You can see the research documenting this here: https://chaoticallypreciselifeloveandmelanoma.blogspot.com/2020/07/skin-rashes-vitiligo-and-prognosis-when.html

The rash was less than fun, but I lived! HA! I fear I cannot give you any amazing way of dealing with it. Gentle lotions and some topical OTC hydrocortisone cream was the best treatment I found. Tepid baths with things like soothing colloidal oatmeal and even baking soda gave temporary comfort. Others may chime in with other solutions. Of course, if absolutely required side effects that cannot be tolerated can be treated with oral steroids and, at times, a drug holiday.

I wish you my best. celeste

sing123