The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Advice appreciated re combo therapy

Forums General Melanoma Community Advice appreciated re combo therapy

Participant

Hi, I am new to the MRF site but on looking at it, I’m very impressed and everyone seems so friendly and helpful!

I was diagnosed stage iv in 2015 and started on debraf/meck at that time. My melanoma has  been stable with no real evidence of any disease for about three years, until now! I had a CT scan, including my head, which picked up a 5mm lesion in the left frontal lobe, devastated! This was just recently so still in shock. I naively thought I had it licked! I’m about to get targeted radiotherapy for this.

I’m on Debraf/meck and have been throughout, with the occasional short break due to side effects, but on the whole tolerated it fine.I’ve also got a couple of slightly enlarged lymph nodes in my chest area.

I was at the oncologist yesterday to discuss treatment options for after the radiotherapy and it’s not great.

Apparently they believe that the lymph nodes that have increased very slightly  in size, added to the brain lesion, indicates that the current treatment isn’t working as well. 3 options offered-

1. Stick with what I’m on just in case
      2. One single type of immunotherapy treatment-Nivolumab
      3. Two immunotherapy drugs Nivo/Ipi, administered together-which they tell me has better results but high chance of nasty side effects!
      I’ve opted for the desert island, which they obviously forgot to mention!