The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

Path Report and questions: Lentigo Maligna Melanoma

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community Path Report and questions: Lentigo Maligna Melanoma

Participant
      Hello all, I am new to melanoma, but have had a few BCCs and MOHs procedures in my time. I am seeking your wisdom and experience.

History of this newly diagnosed melanoma:
      During full body scan August, 2019. Derm noted unusual pink spot on right forearm, took a photo of it, and said if it’s not a “bug bite” and doesn’t heal up we’ll watch it.
      I kept an eye on it all winter: flat, pink, a little patchy, not huge.

Fast forward to March, 2020: Over four weeks it seemed to become pinker, raised now (puffy with a palpable lump), with a distinct and tiny “bug bite” hole at the top of it. Went in last week, derm said it didn’t seem to have changed much, but would do a shave biopsy cause she would be really surprised now if it wasn’t a BCC or SCC. I said, what if it’s a melanoma? Would a shave then not be indicated? She said due to COVID19 situation, and of not wanting me to chance virus exposure coming in for a second treatment visit next week, and because she would bet her life on it being a BCC or SCC she’d go ahead with a shave and then an ED and C (electrodessication and cutterage) to finish it off so I wouldn’t have to come back in again. Of course, I said OK (I have seen this derm for 25 years and she’s never steered me wrong).
      Pathology report:
      Clinical Data: A: Morphology: erythematous indurated plaque