The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

New to this forum, Brain met question and help

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community New to this forum, Brain met question and help

Participant

Hi everyone!

It's my first time posting here on behalf of my husband! for the past few months since my husband progressed to stage 4, this community has been a tremendous source of help and hope for both of us!

quick background:

First diagnosed Sep 2017, 6 mm nodular melanoma on scalp

April 2018: progressed to stage 4 with bone mets on right shoulder

August 2018: Successful surgery to remove the shoulder mass

September 2018: clear scan/brain MRI

October 2018: 2 big lumps started to grow very quickly around the surgery site, Ct scan confirmed 3 big masses around 5-7 cm (this time very agressive).  following CT and MRI confirmed nodules in lungs, scalp and small mass in the brain.

After this point, he started the IPI/Nivo combo, not too many major side effects except for Liver enzymes elevated, which lead him stop the treatments and go on prednisone to calm everything down. after the first treatment the mass on the shoulder grew very very large. So his oncologist decided to resume the treatment (he got the second infusion about 3 weeks ago). We noticed this huge mass has been now softer to touch and quite smaller (he also had radiotherapy to the mass due to it's rapid growth).

Now my quistion is about the spot in the brain. the second MRI on Feb 8th showd it has increased in size from 4mm to 9mm, nothing new!

his doctor is suggesting,