The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Content within the patient forum is user-generated and has not been reviewed by medical professionals. Other sections of the Melanoma Research Foundation website include information that has been reviewed by medical professionals as appropriate. All medical decisions should be made in consultation with your doctor or other qualified medical professional.

I knew my lesion was melanoma and did not want a shave biopsy

Forums Cutaneous Melanoma Community I knew my lesion was melanoma and did not want a shave biopsy

Participant

So I’ll try to make this short lol. New lesion grew on lower Leg that looked like a sun spot. It darkened over time however recently it became elevated with multi pigment. I am a nurse,psych, btw. I made an appt with a local derm that I have never been too due to them being able to see me within a few days. I am a very anxious person with mild white coat syndrome. I don’t get it myself because I work with doctors but aye I dunno man lol. So after An hour wait in the waiting room the medical assistant called me and I show her what I’m therefore and she said that’s it I said yes but while I’m here can I do a whole body check I haven’t had one in years she said well yes get undressed the physician assistant walks in very straightforward no personality looks at my lesion does a quick scan of my body in a minute and asked me if I go tanning I told her no I did as a child unfortunately but I haven’t gone in 20 years I am outside a lot there with my kids I told her I was a nurse myself she looked at the Legion and said OK we’re going to take this off I’m going to shave it no I’ve done my research I did not want to shave biopsy due to the fact of not proper staging history. She legit looked st the clock and said she didn’t have time and she will do a deeper shave. I still said no please I have read so much about shaves an